Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

2

September 8, 2016 by thequotedpage

uninvited

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Series: Uninvited

Book #: 1

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian, Romance

My Rating: 5 hearts

Cover Rating: 5/5 stars…simple, yet beautiful.

Synopsis:

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodgkin, and Lisa McMann.

 

My Thoughts:

I was not expecting to like Uninvited as much as I did! I’ve read Sophie Jordan’s Firelight series and Reign of Shadows, and enjoyed them, so gave this one a shot.

The premise is very disturbing; scientists have discovered a gene that identifies a person could possibly be or become a killer. So the government, in all its vast wisdom, decides to take care of the problem by singling out carriers of this gene. They basically have to be registered as a carrier and are somewhat segregated from the public. In the school situation, the carriers are stashed away from the “normal” students to keep them safe. Any carriers who are witnessed being violent in any way are basically branded with a huge neck tattoo, letting the world know exactly how dangerous they are. They’re ostracized, segregated and demeaned because of something they may possibly do at some point in their life. Such a scary thought.

Davy, the MC, is a normal girl with a pretty great life. Her family seems well-to-do, she lives in a really nice neighborhood…not that those are requirements for a great life or that having all of that means your life is automatically great. But hers really is. She has a family who love and support her, she has dreams and goals that she has a real possibility of achieving, and a seemingly awesome bestie and boyfriend.

All of that crumbles around her when she finds out she tested positive for the HTS gene. And the story gets to that point pretty quick. From there, it all seems to go downhill for Davy. In her mind, her life is over and will never be the same. And she’s right, in a sense. All of her dreams are smashed. She can’t stay in the academy she’s been attending for much of her school career, she won’t be going to university. Now, she has to attend public school, in what is basically a caged room in the basement, along with the rest of the carriers.

She meets those other carriers, who she’s initially terrified of, but soon learns you don’t need to have specific DNA or an inked band around your neck to be a horrible human being. Free will is a glorious thing. You can choose who you want to be. I won’t go into the story more than that, but it’s a really good read.

I’ll leave you with two words: Sean O’Rourke 🙂

*Read on my Kindle Voyage.

2 thoughts on “Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

  1. MariBiggie says:

    Hi blogger, i’ve been reading your articles for some time and I really like coming back here.
    I can see that you probably don’t make money on your page.

    I know one awesome method of earning money, I think
    you will like it. Search google for: dracko’s tricks

    Like

  2. BestMinda says:

    I see you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn extra bucks every month.
    You can use the best adsense alternative for any type of website (they approve all websites), for more info simply search in gooogle:
    boorfe’s tips monetize your website

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About

I’m obsessed with books. I have been since the 3rd grade, which was a LONG time ago! I also create book related products and I design book covers. When I’m not doing the above mentioned things, I enjoy watching far too much TV, collecting Funko Pops, spending time with my family and crazy animals, and working on my very first novel.

Archives

What I’m Reading

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Monika has read 26 books toward her goal of 75 books.
hide

Blog Stats

  • 2,043 Views